Hamburg News: Trade and Finance. High-class shopping area in the city centre shown.
UniHH © Universität Hamburg

EUR 2.5 million for joint sustainability project

University of Hamburg developing nationwide network on governance, instruction, research, operation and sustainability reporting

The Center for a Sustainable University (KNU) at the University of Hamburg is co-ordinating a joint, two-year project on developing, networking and reporting on sustainability at higher educational institutions (HOCHN) and is to receive EUR 2.5 million in funds from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), a press release said on November 22. Eleven German higher educational institutions are working together in the fields of sustainability reporting, governance, teaching, research, and operation. The aim is to encourage sustainable development at higher educational institutions and establish a national network.

Leading role in sustainability issues

HOCHN will seek answers to how higher educational institutions can improve people’s quality of life and the meaning of sustainable development at universities. What key figures can be used to make teaching, research and operation future-orientated? The project will also try to develop a joint understanding of sustainability and how to achieve that as well as making reporting on sustainability more professional.

The project will be jointly managed by Prof. Dr. Alexander Bassen, Director of KNU and professor of business administration at the Faculty of Economics and Social Science at the University of Hamburg, and Dr. Claudia Schmitt, Manager and Academic Co-ordinator of KNU. Prof. Dr. Dieter Lenzen, University President, said: “I am particularly pleased about this success because it proves emphatically the leading role of the University of Hamburg in university sustainability.” Bassen stressed: “Over the next two years, we will set up a strong network for sustainability at German universities. We wish to integrate international partners and networks in the project.”

Ten other members

The other members of HOCHN include the University of Bremen, the Free University Berlin, University of Duisburg-Essen, University of Vechta, Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen, Leuphana University Lüneburg, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Dresden Technical University, University of Applied Sciences in Eberswalde and the University of Zittau/Görlitz.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.