Abaton Kino © Abaton-Kino (Betriebs GmbH)

Cinemas in Hamburg: Cultural Authority awards

Hamburger Kinopreise to cinemas for successful documentaries and accessibilty

A total of 13 art house cinemas in districts of Hamburg were presented Monday (August 29th) with the Hamburger Kinopreis 2016 or cinema award in the 3001 Kino in Schanzenviertel which is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. The Cultural Authority of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein presents the prizes of EUR 100,000 for cinema and district culture annually. Maria Köpf, Managing Director of Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein, said: “The cinema is a cultural and social space and has not lost any of its fascination so far. An appealing and ambitious programme is part of the reason for this. We thank all of the distinguished cinema operators and programme planners for their committed and responsible work towards cinema.”

Prizes for Abaton, 3001 Kino and Zeise cinemas

Last year, cinemas won awards in the categories of first showers i.e. cinemas that show new releases and repeat players. The winners in the first category include Abaton (EUR 15,000 Euro), 3001 Kino (EUR 12,000 Euro) and Zeise Kinos (EUR 11,000). Other winners include the Studio (EUR 7,000), the Savoy (EUR 4,000) and Passage (EUR 4,000). Abaton was praised for its documentary film programme and efforts towards greater accessibility. The 3001 Kino was praised for its selection of movies and special film series while Zeise Kinos was lauded for its Last Night series and the amount of short films in its programme.

Magazin’s family-friendly programme

The prizes in the category of repeat players i.e. cinemas with a fixed Monday evening programme went to the Koralle Lichtspielhaus (EUR 10,000) and the Magazin Filmkunsttheater (EUR 10,000). The jury praised the strong links of the Koralle Lichtspielhaus to many initiatives in the suburb. The extensive renovations undertaken at the cinema in 2015 and the family-friendly programme also won over the jury. The Alabama and the Elbe Filmtheater won EUR 7, 000 each while the Blankeneser Kino and the B-Movie won EUR 5,000 each and Lichtmeß Kino won EUR 3,000. The 2016 jury included Doris Bandhold, Managing Director of doris bandhold filmpromotion, Gabriele Scheld, Managing Director of la gente agency for script, directing and camera, and Michael Töteberg, film scholar and head of the Rowohlt Medienagentur.

The Hamburger Kinopreise have been in existence since 1993. They are presented for quality, outstanding film programmes or other measures promoting cinema culture in Hamburg.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.