Forschung in Hamburg - ©
Preisverleihung in Bremen: Schleswig-Holsteins Wissenschaftsministerin Karin Prien, Prof. Uwe Koch-Gromus (Dekan UKE), Prof. Tobias Knopp, Prof. Thorsten Buzug, Prof. Gabriele Gillessen-Kaesbach und Dr. Eva Gümbel (Stadträtin Hamburg; v.l.n.r.). © Universität zu Lübeck

Hamburg comes second in North German Science Awards

EUR 75,000 for tomographic imaging project by University of Hamburg, University of Lübeck and TUHH

The University of Hamburg, the University of Lübeck and Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg came second in this year’s North German Science Awards (Norddeutsche Wissenschaftspreis 2018) for collaborative projects in life sciences. Their project “Magnetic Particle Imaging: A radiation-free alternative for future vessel imaging” won EUR 75,000 and was presented on Thursday (November 29, 2018) in Bremen.

Real-time representation of blood flow

The research project focuses on a tomographic imaging method named “Magnetic-Particle-Imaging” (MPI). It can be used to visualize blood flow in vessels in real time. Minimal amounts of nanoparticles are used as contrast agents and stimulated with harmless magnetic fields. As a result, the particles emit electromagnetic signals from which 3D images can be calculated. The method opens up the possibility of imaging vessels without ionising radiation that is potentially dangerous for patients and staff.

Agriculture and common tern

The research project “Multi-Meta-Omics: New Technologies for New Challenges in North German Agriculture in Climate Change” by the Christian-Albrechts-University of Kiel and the Georg-August-University of Göttingen won first prize of EUR 125,000. Third prize of EUR 50,000 went to a multi-generational study of river terns by the Christian-Albrechts-Universität of Kiel, the Max-Plack-Institut für Evolutionsbiologie Plön and the Institut für Vogelforschung. The winners prevailed over 13 rival projects. The call for proposals for the next competition in 2020, managed by Schleswig-Holstein, will focus on the natural sciences.

Sources and further information:

Norddeutscher Wissenschaftspreis

The North German Science Awards are presented by the states of Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony and Schleswig-Holstein and honours successful transnational co-operation in science. The North German Science Ministers’ Conference, chaired by Bremen this year, was the lead agency for the award ceremony. The prize is presented every two years and focuses on one special topic.

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.