Hamburg News: Trade and Finance. High-class shopping area in the city centre shown.
Gute Aussichten 2016 © Aras Gökten

gute aussichten: new german photography« in Hamburg

Since its launch in 2004, the project »gute aussichten: new german photography« has been shown in the House of Photography at Deichtorhallen Hamburg

It has now established itself as the most important prize for up-and-coming photographers in the field of contemporary photographic art in Germany. This year’s selection committee, which includes the founder Josefine Raab as well as Dr. Wibke von Bonin, Dr. Ludger Derenthal, Mario Lombardo, Mona Mönning, Amelie Schneider, Ulrich Seidl, Stefan Becht and Ingo Taubhorn, selected nine award winners out of 104 participants. The photographic works of Aras Gökten, Lars Hübner, Felix Hüffelmann, Kyung-Nyu Hyun, Kolja Linowitzki, Jewgeni Roppel, Gregor Schmidt, Kamil Sobolewski and Maja Wirkus will be shown from 4 March to 17 April 2016 in the House of Photography at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg.

Germany’s Most Renowned Competition for Young Photographers

According to the magazine Der Spiegel, “gute aussichten” is “Germany’s most renowned competition for young photographers” and is developing into a “regular showcase of new photography”. The heart of the project is an annual competition for final-year projects from all German universities and academies that offer graduate courses in photography. Each institution can submit a maximum of five nominees. The selected award winners will be presented afterward in various exhibitions, initiatives and media to the public at large.

Josefine Raab, founder of »gute aussichten«: In the twelfth year of “gute aussichten”, the members of the jury have selected nine portfolios from a total of 104 entries from 36 different institutions. Altogether, there are more than 1,100 photos, four video projections, three books and one sound installation.

2016’s Winners

Aras Gökten // Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie
Lars Hübner // Kunsthochschule Berlin – Weißensee
Felix Hüffelmann // Fachhochschule Bielefeld
Kyung-Nyu Hyun // Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln
Kolja Linowitzki // Universität der Künste Berlin
Jewgeni Roppel // Fachhochschule Bielefeld
Gregor Schmidt // Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin
Kamil Sobolewski // Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie
Maja Wirkus // Kunsthochschule Kassel

source and further details:

More articles