Lebensqualität Außenalster © C. O. Bruch

Ministry of Culture Grants Literature Awards

Prize-giving gala on 7 December. Hamburg runs one of the country's most lucrative programmes for German-speaking authors

Also in 2015r, the Hamburg Miniature of Culture awarded six prizes for literature, endowed with 6.000 euro each. Furthermore, the three prizes for literary translation endowed with 2,500 euro each were granted. An independent jury made the selection from 180 anonymous applications.

Continuous Funding Since 1983

Prof Barbara Kisseler, Hamburg Minister of Culture: “The Hamburg Ministry of Culture has been recognising outstanding literature and literary translations with awards since 1983. The competition is one of the oldest contest in German-speaking countries, and also one with the highest price money. The continuous promotion is one of the main reasons for the increasing success of Hamburg writers experienced in recent years. I congratulate the winners and prize winners very much on their achievements.”

Six Literature and Three Translation Awards

The winners of the literature awards are: Kaspar Peters for his story cycle “Predators in the Temperate Zone”; Myriam Keil for three short stories from her storytelling project “Intolerance”; Charlotte Richter Peill for her story “The Journey”; Saša Stanišic for his short stories “The Factory” and “In these Waters Everything Sinks”; Tanja Schwarze for her story “The Greatest Wish”, and Katrin Seddig for an excerpt from her novel “Three Houses”. Each receive one of the prizes endowed with 2,500 euros for literary translation: Brigitte Große for her translation of the novel “The Volatilized” the French writer Thomas B. Reverdy, which will be published in spring 2016 by Berlin Verlag ; Doris Kouba for her translation of the novel “by n the publishing Balaena; Corinna Popp for her translation of the novel “The Earth of the people” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, published by Marix Verlag.

The award ceremony will take place on Monday, December 7, 2015, at 7.30 p.m. at the Literaturhaus Hamburg, Schwanenwik 38, 22087 Hamburg. The event is public, admission is free. After the award ceremony, the jury will explain its choice, and the winners will present their work.

Source and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.