Die Gewinner der Hamburger Kinopreise 2018 © FFHSH/Annika Börm

Hamburg Cinema Prizes 2018 presented

Awards worth EUR 100,000 for 13 art-house cinemas

Thirteen art-house cinemas accepted Friday (August 24, 2018) the Hamburg Cinema Awards 2017 (in Studio Kino. Dr. Carsten Brosda, Senator for Culture and Media, presented the annual prizes worth a total of EUR 100,000 euros on behalf of the Ministry of Culture and Media and Filmförderung Hamburg Schleswig-Holstein. The Hamburg Cinema Prizes have been awarded since 1993 for outstanding film programmes and other measures that promote cinema.


The Hamburg Cinema Awards 2018 went to Abaton (EUR 15,000), the 3001 Kino (EUR 14,000), the Zeise Kinos (EUR 10,000) and the Magazin-Filmkunsttheater (EUR 9,000). The Alabama, Koralle Kino and Studio-Kino received EUR 8,000 each. The Savoy Filmtheater received EUR 7,000 and the B-Movie and Passage Kino EUR 5,000. The Elbe Filmtheater and the Lichtmeß-Kino received EUR 4,000 Euro and the Blankeneser Kino EUR 3,000.

Top-quality programme

“Films tell stories, let us take different perspectives, inspire and unsettle. Hamburg’s art-house and district cinemas stand for the audience’s positive acceptance and bear witness to the breadth and thematic depth of Hamburg’s cinema landscape. We would like to support the committed work in these cinemas with the Hamburg Cinema Awards. It radiates far into the city’s districts and we congratulate the excellent teams warmly,” said Brosda.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.