Hamburg Animation Award © Handelskammer Hamburg/Ulrich Perrey/Krafft Angerer

11 entries in final of Hamburg Animation Award 2016

Expert jury selects best animated short films from 300 worldwide entries

Entries from as far afield as Bangladesh, Malaysia, Lebanon, Norway, Russia, Lithuania and Jordan are among 300 submissions for this year’s Hamburg Animation Award. A jury of 15 experts from film, animation, games and advertising, chaired by author and director Eckart Fingberg, has shortlisted eleven short films. The prize ceremony will be held on June 22 in Hamburg’s Chamber of Commerce.

Diverse prizes

The movies will be screened in full length and the winners will receive prizes worth EUR 10,000. Around 800 invited representatives of the above-mentioned sectors will decide live on the winner of the audience prize worth EUR 1,000. Laudators include Galen Tan Chu, co-director of the new “Ice Age: Collision Course” (2016) adventure film, Ron Dyens, producer of the multi prize-winning “Long Way North” (2015) animated movie, and Andreas Kuhlage and Jens Hardeland, presenters of NDR’s N-Joy morning radio show.

Animated, 10-minute short films shot in 2D, 3D, stop-motion, puppet animations etc. were admitted to the competition. The Animation Award will be presented for the thirteenth time this year for outstanding work in animation design.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.