Race for Crystal Cabin Awards 2023 now on

Apply now until deadline of January 25, 2023 - award ceremony in summer
11 November 2022
Interior of an aircraft cabin

Applications are now being accepted for the prestigious Crystal Cabin Awards (CCA) until the deadline of January 25, 2023. The awards will be presented on June 6, 2023 during the Aircraft Interiors Expo in Hamburg. Aviation companies, design studios and students are invited to submit their innovations in the aircraft cabin or passenger comfort categories. A jury of 30 experts will select finalists in eight categories. The winners will be selected in June. 

Established and new categories

The established categories include "Cabin Concepts" for holistic cabins, "Cabin Systems" for product innovations, and "Passenger Comfort".  The "Material & Components" category covers new application possibilities in the cabin. Awards will also be presented in the categories "Sustainable Cabin" and "Health & Safety", which were introduced in 2021. The aim is to find innovations "that have a demonstrably significant impact on aviation's environmental impact" or that address safety and health issues.

Awards for digitalisation and next generation 

Digitalisation will be addressed in the category "IFEC & Digital Services" (Inflight Entertainment and Connectivity). Entries should demonstrate technological superiority over competing products and cover in-flight entertainment solutions. Connectivity elements such as antennas or customer-orientated concepts e.g., passenger apps can be submitted. The  "University" category seeks students' ideas for more comfortable flights, and ideas that lessen the ecological footprint of aviation. The awards give students an opportunity to network across the industry. Collins Aerospace, Safran and Southwest Airlines were among the winners of the Crystal Cabin Awards 2022.