Forschung in Hamburg - ©
Forschung am UKE © Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE)

Awards for UKE's young scientists

Dr. Martini Prize for outstanding basic research leading to new therapies

Five young scientists at the University Medical Centre Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) were presented Monday (February 13) with the Dr. Martini Prize during a ceremony attended by Dr. Eva Gümbel, Authority for Science and Research. The first prize was shared by Dr. Nicola M. Tomas for research leading to new therapies for membranous glomerulonephritis, an autoimmune disease that effects the kidney, and Dr. Kaja Breckwoldt, Dr. Florian Weinberger and Dr. Simon Pecha for breeding synthetic heart muscle tissue from human stem cells. The second prize went to Dr. Hanno Ehlken for his fundamental work on the role of inflammatory mediators infections and autoimmune processes.

Germany’s oldest prize for medicine

Prof. Dr. Dr. Uwe Koch-Gromus, Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and a Member of the Board at UKE, said: “We are delighted that five young scientists at UKE have been honoured with the Dr. Martini Foundation’s prize. The prize-winning works reflect the high level of clinical research at UKE and show impressively how fundamental research can lead to new approaches to therapy.” Prof. Dr. Ansgar W. Lohse, Board of Trustees of the Dr. Martini Foundation and Director of UKE’s I. Medical Clinic and Policlinic, added: “The honour of Germany’s oldest prize for medicine has been awarded with the generous support of the Hamburg Foundation for Sciences, Development and Culture Helmut and Hannelore Greve. We would also like to expressly thank the philanthropist Mrs Eva-Maria Greve for that.“

Prize of EUR 10,000

Friends and colleagues of the surgeon Dr. Erich Martini founded the Dr. Martini Foundation in 1880 who died in the same year. The Hamburg Foundation for Sciences, Development and Culture Helmut and Hannelore Greve presents the Dr. Martini Prize of EUR 10,000. The winner of the first prize receives EUR 4,000, which is shared, while the winner of the second prize receives EUR 2,000.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.