Titel Luftfahrt
Crystal Cabin Awards 2015 © Hamburg Aviation

AIX: Fair presents travel comforts of the future

Crystal Cabin Award 2016 goes to Rebel, Aero, Etihad, B/E Aerospace, Lufthansa Systems, Boeing, Sekisui SPI, TU Delft and Zodiac Aerospace

The three-day Aircraft Interiors Expo (AIX) at which over 530 exhibitors presented innovations in aircraft cabins ended Thursday in Hamburg with the presentation of the coveted, annual Crystal Cabin Award.

Practical seats and self-cleaning toilets

Rebel.Aero, Etihad, B/E Aerospace, Lufthansa Systems, Boeing, Sekisui SPI, TU Delft and Zodiac Aerospace won in a total of eight categories and accepted their trophies in the ballroom of Hamburg’s Hotel Atlantic Kempinski. This year, the winners again gave a creative foretaste of civil aviation in future with foldable economy seats to self-cleaning toilets. The Crystal Cabin Award, now in its 10th anniversary year, was launched by the Hamburg Aviation cluster and in 2016 had a record 95 entries from 18 nations. Major players such as Airbus und Emirates sponsor the prize.

Creative sector

The Crystal Cabin Award is considered a launchpad for innovations beyond the sector as many winning ideas are later developed further and implemented. Sir Tim Clark, President of Emirates Airline, said: “Hardly any industry is as open for creativity as the aviation industry. Every day we embrace new trends – in design, in sustainability, and of course in the area of safety and security. It is essential that we encourage and appropriately reward the experimentation with new materials, the questioning of established approaches, and the empathic adoption of a customer perspective. This is the only way we can continue to motivate the industry to think outside the box.”

New prize category

The Emirates-CEO presented the first Crystal Cabin Award on Thursday evening in the category “Passenger Comfort Hardware” to Rebel.Aero for innovative standard seating in the economy-class cabin. The concept promises more legroom as the seating surface can be folded upwards during a flight.

The award in a new category this year was devoted to innovative “Cabin Concepts”. Jennifer Clay of “Jetliner Cabins” handed over the award to Etihad Airways. The company’s Boeing 787 First Suite offers the same comfort as the Airbus A380 thanks to clever use of space. The collaboration with Acumen Design saw the airline from the United Arab Emirates win a trophy for the second year in a row. Winners in other categories can be found on: www.hamburg-aviation.de/en/.

Sources and further information:

More articles

  • There are no older articles in this category.
  • There are no newer articles in this category.